All I know, freshly pressed, Life, newbie, prose, Uncategorized, writing

Critical…

Who Am I?

I am ME

I am my thoughts

I am my emotions

I am my experiences

I am my conscience

I am my subconscience

I am my unique naunces

Can you take my body and not take ME?

The scar on my hand is ME

The ache of my joints is ME

The tension in my muscles is ME

The curl of my toes is ME

The laugh lines on my eyes are ME

The birthmarks and moles on my skin are ME

You can take my body, but you can NEVER take ME

I am ME

You can take my DNA, but you can NEVER take ME

Only I am ME

You can take my brain, but you’ll need my spine too – it makes up the whole CNS

But you can NEVER take ME

Those synapses will still fire, the blood will still flow, the cells will still grow

But you will NEVER be ME

You will not have MY thoughts

You will not have MY emotions

You will not have MY experiences

You will not have MY conscience

You will not have MY subconscience

You will not have MY unique nuances

I am ME

Only I am ME

You can take it all

But you will never take ME

Leave a Reply

